Apprenticeship Standards

We partner with employers across eight sectors to deliver Apprenticeship Standards.

YMCA Training offers a broad range of apprenticeships, spanning eight key sectors. We’re growing our apprenticeship offer (and have some in development), which we’ll roll out as soon as there is Government approval of the associated Apprenticeship Standards.

Frameworks and Standards: what’s the difference

Apprenticeship Standards are the newest type of apprenticeship on offer in the UK. Frameworks (the older model for apprenticeships) are qualification-led, whilst the newer Standards are occupation-focused. In practical terms, this means that the focus of the Standards is on ensuring that your apprentice has 100% of the knowledge, skills and practical experience to meet your company’s needs.

Want to know more? Read the blog.

Meeting the needs of employers

One of the biggest benefits for employers is that apprenticeships are specifically designed to meet your needs. Apprenticeship Standards are written by a group of employers, academics and industry leaders within relevant sectors, with new standards being developed all the time.

Standards have to be approved by the Government before we can deliver them. All apprenticeships are aligned to a specific apprenticeship standard, meaning content is relevant and up-to-date.

Our apprenticeships

Childcare and Education

Standard apprenticeships

  • Level 3 Teaching Assistant
  • Level 4 Children's, Young People and Families Practitioner
  • Level 5 Children's Young People and Families Manager

Fitness and Leisure

Standard apprenticeships

  • Level 3 Personal Training
  • Level 3 Leisure Duty Manager

Health and Social Care

Standard apprenticeships

  • Level 2 Adult Care Worker
  • Level 2 Healthcare Support Worker
  • Level 3 Lead Adult Care Worker
  • Level 5 Healthcare Assistant Practitioner


Standard apprenticeships

  • Level 2 Sports Turf Operative
  • Level 2 Golf Greenkeeping
  • Level 2 Horticulture

About horticulture apprenticeships ❯

Logistics and Warehousing

Standard apprenticeships

  • Level 2 Supply Chain Operator
  • Level 2 Supply Chain Warehouse Operative
  • Level 3 Supply Chain Practitioner

Management and Business Admin

Standard apprenticeships

  • Level 3 Team Leader Supervisor
  • Level 3 Business Administrator
  • Level 5 Operational Departmental Manager

Motor Vehicle

Standard apprenticeships

  • Level 3 Light Vehicle Service and Maintenance

Retail and Customer Service

Standard apprenticeships

  • Level 2 Retailer
  • Level 2 Customer Service Practitioner
  • Level 3 Retail Team Leader
  • Level 3 Customer Service Specialist
  • Level 4 Retail Manager

All the support you need

We have a dedicated Apprenticeship Team to help you navigate the world of apprenticeships, from skills gap analysis to recruitment through to monitoring apprentice progression, we’re here to support you.